European Council Studies

Peter Ludlow, chairman EuroComment, Founding Director of CEPS in Brussels, formerly Professor of History at the European University Institute in Florence

Editorial Board
Nicholas Piers Ludlow, Professor of International History at the London School of Economics and Political Science (chairman)
Jim Cloos, Secretary General of TEPSA and former Director General, General and Institutional Policy, Council Secretariat
Elise Muir, Professor and Director of Institute for European Law, KU Leuven
Andreas Rödder, Professor of Contemporary History, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Beda Romano, EU correspondent of Il Sole 24 Ore
Mateusz Szczurek, Professor at Warsaw University, Senior EU economist, EBRD and Member of the European Fiscal Board
Jan Van der Harst, Professor of European Integration, University of Groningen
Steven Van Hecke, Professor of Government, KU Leuven
Laurent Warlouzet, Professor of European Integration History, Sorbonne University

Online journal with a print edition
4 to 10 issues annually
Print ISSN: 2684-3390
Online ISSN: 2684-4966
Online available via Ingenta Connect

European Council Studies, previously known as EuroComment’s Pre-Summit Briefings and European Council Notes, are uniquely valuable. Launched twenty
years ago and based on a wide range of published and unpublished sources, including interviews with key players, they provide a continuous, highly readable and independent narrative of the politics and policies of the European Council, the EU’s principal decision-making institution.

This journal by Leuven University Press should be of interest to everybody inside or outside government who is involved in or with the European Union.

Mission Statement & Scope >

Subscription information >

To sign up for a subscription, return the below subscription form to

 pdf Subscription Form European Council Studies
14 products