Music Theory and Analysis Volume 8 Issue 1, 2021 (Journal Subscription)

ISSN: 22955917

ISBN: 9789461653314

Publication date: May 3, 2021

€70.00 (including 6% VAT)


Standard delivery time for print books:

For Belgium: 5 to 8 working days

For EU: 2 to 3 weeks

For other countries: 4 to 5 weeks


Volume 8 Issue 1, 2021Music Theory and Analysis (MTA) is a peer-reviewed international journal focusing on recent developments in music theory and analysis. It appears twice a year (in May and October) as an online journal with a print edition. MTA takes a special interest in the interplay between theory and analysis, as well as in the interaction between European and North American scholarship. Open to a wide variety of repertoires, approaches, and methodologies, the journal aims to stimulate dialogue between diverse traditions within the field. Online available via subscription fees* Institutional online only: € 115,00 Institutional online & print: € 140,00
Individual online only: € 55,00 Individual online & print: € 70,00 For more information or to sign up for a subscription, contact or go to www.mtajournal.beOnline journal with a print editionBi-annually in May and OctoberOnline ISSN: 2295-5925Print ISSN: 2295-5917

Table of Contents

Music Theory & Analysis | Volume 8, # I, 2021

James S. MacKay, The Second Repeat in Beethoven’s Sonata-Form Movements: Tonal, Formal and Motivic Strategies
Clifton Boyd, Metrical Ambiguity in the Scherzo of Brahms’s String Sextet, Op. 18Sean Curtice and Lydia Carlisi, A Newly Discovered Annotated Partimento Manuscript : “Rudimenti di Musica per Accompagnare del Sig.r Maestro Vignali” (1789)John Koslovsky, Tristan und Isolde at the Margins of Music-Analytical Discourse: A Dialogic PerspectiveAnalytical vignettesL. Poundie Burstein, Abwesenheit and Anwesenheit in Beethoven’s Op. 81a
Alexander Rehding, Grieg’s Sonic Afterimages
Caleb Mutch, Canons and Contestable Cadences in Brahms’s Op. 118 No. 4
Elias Van Dyck, A Multi-Layered Monolith : Beyond the Surface of Loudness in Galina Ustvolskaya’s Sixth Piano Sonata sources
Sean Curtice and Lydia Carlisi, Editors and Translators, “Rudimenti di Musica per Accompagnare del Sig.r Maestro Vignali, A. 1789 D.”Book review
Job IJzerman, Review of Robert O. Gjerdingen, Child Composers in the Old Conservatories: How Orphans Became Elite Musicians

Related titles