Music Theory and Analysis Volume 4 Issue II, 2017 (Journal Subscription)

ISSN: 22955925

ISBN: 9789461652416

Publication date: November 30, 2017

€70.00 (including 6% VAT)

Buy Now Subscribe


Volume 4 Issue 2 available October 2017Music Theory and Analysis (MTA) is a peer-reviewed international journal focusing on recent developments in music theory and analysis. It appears twice a year (in April and October) as an online journal with a print edition. MTA takes a special interest in the interplay between theory and analysis, as well as in the interaction between European and North American scholarship. Open to a wide variety of repertoires, approaches, and methodologies, the journal aims to stimulate dialogue between diverse traditions within the field. Online available via subscription fees* Institutional online only: € 115,00 Institutional online & print: € 140,00
Individual online only: € 55,00 Individual online & print: € 70,00 For more information or to sign up for a subscription, contact or go to www.mtajournal.beOnline journal with a print editionBi-annually in April and OctoberOnline ISSN: 2295-5925Print ISSN: 2295-5917

Table of Contents

Music Theory & Analysis | Volume 4, # II, October 2017

Keynote article

Julian Horton, Criteria for a Theory of Nineteenth-Century Sonata



Jared C. Hartt, The Problem of the Vitry Motet Corpus: Sonority,

Kinship, Attribution

Colloquy: Wittgenstein session

Joseph Dubiel, Marion A. Guck and Bryan Parkhurst, Hearing

As Hearing-As

Joseph Dubiel, Music Analysis and Kinds of Hearing-As

Marion A. Guck, Perceptions, Impressions: When Is Hearing “Hearing-As”?

Bryan Parkhurst, Aspects of Analysis

Analytical vignette

Stephen Rodgers, “Wo sind sie hingegangen?”: Hidden Melodies and Schubert’s “Greisengesang”


Roger Graybill, Looking to Europe: In Search of a Praxis-Based Music-Theory Pedagogy

Book reviews

Christian Utz, Review of Edward Klorman, Mozart’s Music of Friends: Social Interplay in the Chamber Works

Kristof Boucquet, Review of Alain Poirier, Les Cinq Pièces pour orchestre op. 16 d’Arnold Schoenberg

Related titles