Ohne Worte

Vocality and Instrumentality in 19th-Century Music

Edited by William Brooks and contributions by Edoardo Torbianelli, Jeanne Roudet, Jean-Pierre Bartoli, Douglass Seaton, and Hubert Mossburger

Regular price €34.50 (including 6% VAT) Sale

Edited volume - paperback

VIEW Edited volume - ebook - PDF
The musical thought and practice of canonical composers
What can music tell us—without words? Can it depict scenes, narrate stories, elucidate beliefs? And can it be an instrument through which we access the inner lives not only of musicians from the past but of ourselves, today?
In Ohne Worte five scholars and performers probe these and related questions to illuminate both the experience and performance of nineteenth-century music. Drawing on a rich range of sources, they reveal the musical thought and practice of canonical composers like Berlioz, Mendelssohn, and Schumann. Their work challenges us to reconsider our musical practices and the voices manifested in them, and it encourages the creation of an art that is both historical and transcendental. 

This publication is GPRC-labeled (Guaranteed Peer-Reviewed Content).

Jean-Pierre Bartoli (Université Paris–Sorbonne), Hubert Moßburger (Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Stuttgart), Jeanne Roudet (Université Paris–Sorbonne), Douglass Seaton (Florida State University School of Music), Edoardo Torbianelli (Hochschule der Künste Bern)


— Edoardo Torbianelli
Playing with Images: Character and Emotion in the Age
of Romanticism

— Hubert MoàŸburger
“Inner Voices” and “Deep Combinations”: Robert
Schumann's Approach to Romantic Polyphony

— Jeanne Roudet
Frédéric Chopin, Clara Schuman, and the Singing Piano

— Jean-Pierre Bartoli
Vocal Patterns in the Themes of Berlioz's Instrumental

— Douglass Seaton
Plot and Narrative in Mendelssohn's Chamber Music for
Strings and Piano

— Hubert MoàŸburger
Robert Schumann's Poetic Paraphrases: Analytical


Format: Edited volume - paperback

Size: 240 × 150 mm

ISBN: 9789058679987

Publication: November 12, 2014

Series: Geschriften van het Orpheus Instituut/Collected Writings of the Orpheus Institute 12

Languages: English

Stock item number: 92807

William Brooks is professor of music at the University of York, emeritus professor at the University of Illinois, scholar-in-residence at the Newberry Library, and senior research fellow at the Orpheus Institute.